"*" indicates required fields
Nashville DUI Charges
An arrest for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Tennessee is normally charged as a misdemeanor, but depending on factors of your DUI charged, it can be elevated to a Felony DUI. DUI charges are aggressively prosecuted in all counties in Tennessee, so it’s extremely important that you hire an experienced and qualified DUI attorney to help you fight your charge with a goal of working for a DISMISSAL or REDUCTION in your DUI charge.
A DUI in Nashville or Middle Tennessee can have severe consequences and can be a complicated charge to fight if you don’t have the right DUI attorney working on your case. Did you know a police officer has the authority, based on their own discretion, to arrest you for a DUI regardless of the results of your Breath Test or Field Sobriety Test? Have an experienced and qualified DUI lawyer working on your case who understands the pros and cons of a breathalyzer and how the body metabolizes alcohol and drugs. Your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) at the time of your DUI stop and at the time of a breath test is crucial in your DUI defense, so it’s extremely important to have a DUI Defense Attorney that understands the complicated factors that affect your blood concentration of alcohol.
What is a DUI is Tennessee?
Under the DUI Laws in Tennessee you can be charged with a DUI under the following conditions:
- You have a BAC of .08% or higher
- You have a BAC less than .02% and you are under the age of 21
- The police believe you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Fail a Standardized Field Sobriety Test:
- Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus
- Walk and Turn
- One Leg Stand
Tennessee Implied Consent Law
Tennessee’s Implied Consent Law requires you to submit to a BAC Test. Failure to submit to a BAC Test will result in your driving privileges being revoked for ONE YEAR. Under the Tennessee Implied Consent Law all licensed drivers consent to a BAC Test as a condition of having a drivers license.
Blood Alcohol Content Tests
In Tennessee your BAC Level is determined by a Breath Test or Blood Test. The police officer decides which BAC Test, breath or blood, will be used to determine your BAC Level.
Penalties for a First Time Offender of DUI in Tennessee
- Jail Time: Minimum forty eight (48) hours in jail (MANDATORY)
- Suspended Sentence: 11 months 29 days
- Supervised Probation: 11 months 29 days
- Community Service: 24 Hours
- Fines: $350 + Court Costs
- Driver’s License: One (1) year suspension
- Ignition Interlock Device: Installed if BAC >.20
- Alcohol Safety School